After an introduction to Gainsborough at Gainsborough’s House, visitors enter two downstairs rooms, the Entrance Hall and the Parlour, which explore the achievements of the artist and his time in Suffolk. The Entrance Hall displays some of the highlights from the collection including Gainsborough’s Pitminster Boy, alongside Gainsborough’s studio cabinet. The Parlour displays paintings and drawings alongside period furniture.
About Gainsborough’s House
Thomas Gainsborough (1727-88) was born in Sudbury and baptised at the Independent Meeting-House in Friars Street on 14 May 1727, the fifth son and ninth child of John and Mary Gainsborough. In 1958, Gainsborough’s House Society was formed to purchase the house and establish it as a centre for Thomas Gainsborough. The Museum opened to the public in 1961 and has remained open for over 50 years. The beautiful historic garden at the heart of Gainsborough’s House is maintained by a devoted body of volunteers, who garden exclusively with plants that were available in Gainsborough’s lifetime.
Gainsborough’s House Society , Charity No. 1170048 and Company Limited by Guarantee No. 10413978